An Interview with Alan Cawley

15/08/2011 15:35

 

Alan Cawley has often been regarded as one of the finest footballing talents to come out of Sligo. He has played for a host of League of Ireland club's, including the 2004 League winning Shelbourne side and also spent the early years of his career in England with Leeds United and Sheffield Wednesday and is currently a regular commentator for Sligo Rovers matches on Ocean FM. Alan talks about his time in England, Retiring and his recent venture into the world of commentary.

 

Photo from www.dundalkfc.com/

 

 

Who were your inspirations when you were growing up ?

 

"My inspirations growing up were Glenn Hoddle, David Beckham and Roy Keane also my dad was a huge inspiration."

 

What was your reaction when you were offered a trial by Leeds United ?

 

"My reaction was a total shock! First of all to be even offered a trial and secondly after just 2 days to be offered a contract."

 

What was it like to be playing for Leeds United when they were in The Premiership and involved in Champions League football ?

 

"Amazing times to be fair, the club was buzzing and it was a great experience to be around during such great times."

 

Around the same time you were called up to represent Rep. of Ireland at underage level, what was that like for you ?

 

"One of my greatest achievements is to have represented my country, especially so many times, I cherish those caps!"

 

After Leeds United, you spent some time at Sheffield Wednesday. Although your appearances were limited, do you feel you still benefited from the move there ?

 

"I Made one 1st team appearance for Sheffield Wednesday and had squad number. I benefitted hugely from my time over there, I grew up and matured!"

 

You won a League Winners medal with Shelbourne in 2004, that must have been an amazing moment in your career.

 

"It was my greatest achievement in Irish football, not many people have league winners medals and I do, great club and it was a great team!"

 

You chipped in with a few goals in your career, which one was favourite goal ?

 

"My favourite goal was for St Pats vs Sligo Rovers in Richmond Park, sorry! It's on YouTube if you want to see it ha ha."

 

You suffered a broken cheek bone early in your time at Dundalk, and then injuries just became more prominent, did you fear at the time they would affect the rest of your career ?

 

"Yes they were bad times and then I had a slipped disc later that year, not good. Overall I was quite lucky with injuries so I can't complain too much."

 

Was retiring at just 29 the hardest thing you've ever had to do ?

 

"Yes but it was my decision and I live by it. Bit early but i'm happy with my free time for my wee girl!"

 

You never played for Sligo Rovers but were you ever close to actually donning the red and white jersey ?

 

"Yes I was very close 2 years ago, I shook hands with Paul Cook but there was no contract on the table and I signed with St Pats."

 

What do you hope to do next ?

 

"Commentator and Pundit."

 

Who, in your opinion, was the best LOI player you played with or against ?

 

"In the LOI it was Owen Heary for consistency and Wes Holohan for ability. What a player, he was unreal!"

 

You've become a regular commentator on Ocean FM for live Sligo Rovers games this season, can you see yourself doing this sort of work on a regular basis ?

 

"Not sure, i'm doing a lot of media stuff and I enjoy it so who knows, I might get on Sky Sports ha ha!"

 

If you decide not to pursue a career in commentary and punditry, what do you hope to do ?

 

"I would love to be a manager. I think I have a lot to offer and I would love to be the one making the decisions for that matter!"

 

 

SLIGO ROVERS OFFICIAL WEBSITE

www.sligorovers.com